PIN. Party 2019: Silent Auction takes off at Germany’s biggest charity auction

MUNICH - Germany’s biggest charity auction in favor of culture and the arts reached top results on Saturday (23 November): Nearly one Million Euro was raised in favor of new acquisitions and the realization of exhibitions and educative projects in Munich’s Pinakothek der Moderne and Museum Brandhorst.

Gallery owners, collectors and well-known artists from all over the world had submitted a total of 60 works to be sold during the 17th PIN. Party. After short welcoming notes by Dorothée Wahl (President of the association PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.), Prof. Dr. Bernhard Maaz (General Director of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen) and Bernd Sibler (Bavarian Minister of State for Science and the Arts), 28 of these works were brought under the hammer by Lydia Fenet, Manageing Director at CHRISTIE'S New York.

Miwa Ogasawara’s "Kosmos" achieved a top result of 35,000 Euros.“Iris“ by ZERO-artist Otto Piene was sold for 55,000 Euros. Ulrike Rosenbach’s "Art is a Criminal Action", a diasec quoting an iconic theme by Andy Warhol, was sold for more than twice the gallery price.

Under the supervision of Dr. Rupert Keim (KARL & FABER art auctions), a Silent Auction came to notable results (over 250.000 Euro). The work "Rupprecht Geiger 90" by the artist of the same name reached the highest bid in the Silent Auction with 15,000 Euros (more than three times the gallery price). Two vintage photographs of NASA's Apollo 15 and Apollo 16 missions were sold for twice their gallery price (17,500 Euros).

„Once again, we are beyond grateful for the impressive support of our artists, gallerists and collectors. Without them, it would be impossible to put up an event of this significance and vibrance", says PIN-president Dorothée Wahl. “The significant financial outcome of this auction will help us to improve our educative programs. With this money, we can now conceive to set up further projects in order to make our museums even more attractive to visitors", adds Dr. Angelika Nollert (Director, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum).

This year, around 800 invited guests with various backgrounds - politics, business, culture, the arts or media - danced the night away in the museum's spectacular entrance hall.

The donations raised in favor of the Pinakothek der Moderne and the Museum Brandhorst at yearly PIN. Parties support new art acquisitions, ambitious exhibitions and educative projects.

Final report

Photos: Daniel Grund & Hannes Rohrer

PIN. Party 2019: Silent Auction hebt ab

Bei Deutschlands größter Benefizauktion zugunsten von Kunst und Kultur wurde heute Nacht eine knappe Million Euro erzielt. Galerist*innen, Sammler*innen und renommierte Künstler*innen aus der ganzen Welt hatten anlässlich der 17. PIN. Party insgesamt 60 Werke zur Versteigerung eingereicht. Nach einer Begrüßung von Dorothée Wahl (Vorstandsvorsitzende PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.), Prof. Dr. Bernhard Maaz (Generaldirektor Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen) und Bernd Sibler (Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wissenschaft und Kunst) kamen bei der Live Auction 28 Werke unter den Hammer der Auktionatorin Lydia Fenet (CHRISTIE’S New York). Mit 56.000 Euro bekam das Werk „Three Trees“ von Alex Katz den höchsten Zuschlag des Abends.

Ein Spitzenergebnis von 35.000 Euro erzielte das großformatige Gemälde „Kosmos“ der Künstlerin Miwa Ogasawara. Die Arbeit „Iris“ des angesagten ZERO-Künstlers Otto Piene kam für 55.000 Euro unter den Hammer. Für mehr als das Doppelte des Galeriepreises wechselte das Werk „Art is a Criminal Action“ von Ulrike Rosenbach den Besitzer, das an Andy Warhol angelehnt ist.

Insgesamt erzielte die Silent Auction unter der Leitung von Dr. Rupert Keim (KARL & FABER Kunstauktionen) ein Rekordergebnis von über einer Viertelmillion Euro. Das Werk „Rupprecht Geiger 90“ des gleichnamigen Künstlers erreichte den höchsten Zuschlag in der Silent Auction mit 15.000 Euro. Das ist mehr als das Dreifache des Galeriepreises. Zwei Vintage-Fotografien der NASA-Missionen Apollo 15 und Apollo 16 wurden für mehr als das Doppelte des Galeriepreises verkauft. Das Endergebnis betrug 17.500 Euro.

„Wir sind dankbar, dass wir auch in diesem Jahr so große Unterstützung von renommierten Künstler*innen, Galerist*innen und Sammler*innen erfahren. Ohne sie wäre es nicht möglich, einen Abend von solcher Bedeutung und Strahlkraft zu realisieren“, freut sich Dorothée Wahl, Vorstandsvorsitzende von PIN., über das fantastische Ergebnis. „Mit der erzielten Summe ist es möglich, die Projekte der vier Museen in der Pinakothek der Moderne und des Museums Brandhorst für Besucher*innen noch attraktiver zu gestalten“, fügt Dr. Angelika Nollert (Direktorin, Die Neue Sammlung) hinzu.

Bis in die frühen Morgenstunden feierten die rund 800 von PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. geladenen Gäste aus Politik und Wirtschaft, Kultur, Kunst und Medien in der einzigartigen Atmosphäre der Rotunde des Museums.

Abschlußmeldung PIN. Party 2019

Impressionen PIN. Party 2019

Fotos: Daniel Grund / Hannes Rohrer / PIN. Freunde der Pinakohek der Moderne e.V.